Thumping win for BJP in Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh

Sunday May 25 2008 15:55 IST


HAMIRPUR: The BJP on Sunday retained the Hamirpur Lok Sabha seat in Himachal Pradesh when its candidate Anurag Thakur, son of Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, romped home by a record margin.

Anurag trounced his nearest Congress rival O P Rattan by by a huge margin of 1,74,666 votes in the by-election held on May 22.

Anurag’s victory margin created a record eclipsing the one held by BJP’s Suresh Chandel who had won the seat by 1.27 lakh votes in 1999.

Dhumal’s son polled 3,74,339 votes against Rattan’s 1,99,673. Amin Chand, an Independent, secured 6484 votes.

Rattan Lal Kaundal of Bahujan Shakti Party, a breakaway group of the state BSP, managed 4937 votes losing his security deposit.

The Hamirpur by-election, the second in a year, was necessitated after Dhumal quit the seat on becoming the Chief Minister last December.

About janamejayan

A Viraat Hindu dedicated to spread the message of Paramacharya of Kanchi
This entry was posted in BJP, Election. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s